TUNE IN NANAAJ

ONCE UPON A GENDER…..

Leave a comment

I am no soothsayer, but without looking into a crystal ball and chanting and jumping around a fire I can tell this. And I know I speak for millions when I say this.

It’s not because of cockiness, neither do I come from a long generation of supernatural humans who have been blessed with the ability to read minds with half the powers of the characters in vampire diaries.

I say this because I have been there. Scratch that!

I am there! And wouldn’t it be lovely to say that I am living it and loving it?

Don’t get me wrong! I love being a girl and this is not about how I wish I could transform into someone else.

If that’s what you are thinking then we are not drinking from the same bottle of champagne.

The whole reason why I am knocking on the glass door of your blog is talk about the fact that we have been sorted into boxes according to our genders.

Scroll back to a typical page out of a high school book: endless chatter in the classrooms with teachers who looked bored to death, Jacky was arguing with the teacher about being forced to take a cooking class.

Here was a girl whose mother could not trust her to even pour oil in a pan without burning a bit of her hair. Yet she was prevented from joining the guys in the technical class for obvious reasons.

I won’t argue that at times all a meal needs is a woman’s touch and it will reach perfection, I have my mother to thank for that.
But cooking or sewing or knitting is not all that defines a lady. There is more to a person than his or her gender. You cannot immediately assume that once a person can flex his biceps then he can build your son a tree house.

Give some guys a hammer and some wood and what they would create cannot even be passed off as a work of art from another planet.

“The problem with gender is that it prescribes how we should be, rather than recognizing how we are.”

Because of their genders, people have spun different versions of themselves depending on the crowd they need to impress.They portray only what the society has defined them to be and not who they are in totality.

I am not good at keeping my fingers steady, but that doesn’t stop the guys in my house from carrying their clothes that need mending to me.They automatically assume that having delicate hands mean you can sew.

It’s time we stepped out of the pools of gender the society has restricted us to and venture into the ocean of the world.

Is there anything that has been tagged on you because of your gender.Share your thoughts with me.

Till the next screw I screw back in….Bye Darlings!

Author: Nanaaj

I could think of many things that define me ,so here is a list.A student in the university studying languages who writes her heart out on her blog.Occasionally I sing covers of songs I love and share them with my friends.Hopefully I will fulfill my dream of being a lawyer. I aspire to publish some of my writings and record some songs in the future and hopefully open a Rehab center.

Leave a Reply

